Hunter x Hunter: The Perfect Viewing Guide

This post contains affiliate links. If you use these links to buy something, I may earn a small commission, without any extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Thank you!

Hunter x Hunter is a Japanese manga series by Yoshihiro Togashi.

HxH manga is one of the most popular manga of all time. It’s definitely worth reading so if you haven’t read it yet, I recommend you to grab a paperback/Kindle version on Amazon (it should be available for your country too since it’s Amazon).

HxH tells the story of Gon and his friends, particularly his best friend, Killua, who had used to be a childhood assassin before he took the hunter exam.

Both Killua and Gon eventually become licensed Hunters. Being licensed as an official Hunter bestows several desirable benefits on the licensee, ranging from the usage of public facilities at no cost to reduced legal responsibility for the murder. The two of them start training to become stronger and set off to achieve Gon’s goal to find his father.

Related: The 10 Best Anime Like Hunter x Hunter

How to watch Hunter x Hunter and why it’s this way

There are three ways how to watch Hunter x Hunter.

  1. Watch the 2011 version,
  2. Watch the 1999 version and continue watching the 2011 version after the Yorknew City Arc/ Phantom Troupe Arc,
  3. Watch the 1999 version + all OVAs and then pick up the 2011 version.

Honestly, the 2011 Hunter x Hunter version by Madhouse is my way to go. It’s longer (148 episodes), sticks closer to the manga, and has a really neat animation. It’s more than enough to watch it alone and you don’t need to watch any OVAs or movies if you don’t want to. You get the whole package with no complications!

It’s important to know that the 2011 HxH includes 3 more Arcs compared to the 1999 HxH TV series: Greed Island Arc, Chimera Ant Arc, and also Election Arc.

The 1999 HxH anime TV series ends in the middle of the Yorknew City Arc and you need to watch the first 8-episode OVA to finish this Arc.

If you prefer the 1999 version for some reason, finish first the HxH (1999) anime TV show, then watch the first OVA (HxH: Spider) and after that, you can just start watching the 2011 version from episode 59. That’s where the Greed Island Arc starts.

As stated above, the 1999 version adapts the manga up to the Yorknew City Arc/ Phantom Troupe Arc. There are also 3 OVAs that were made after the series ended (8+8+14 episodes). They continue the story according to manga, finishing the Yorknew City Arc and also covering the Greed Island Arc, and are basically a part of the 1999 series.

The 2011 version catches up to the 1999 version (anime + all OVAs) at episode 75 and continues the story with two more Arcs. Unfortunately, the OVAs are in my opinion poorly made, hence this is my least recommended order. If you for some weird reason decided to go according to this order, I included it at the end of the article.

Hunter x Hunter 2011 Viewing Order (Recommended)

Hunter x Hunter (2011) till episode 752011 – 2014
Hunter × Hunter: Phantom Rouge (movie)2013
Finish Hunter x Hunter (2011)2011 – 2014
Hunter × Hunter: The Last Mission (movie)2013

Hunter x Hunter (2011)

HxH 2011 adapts the manga very neatly. It’s your alfa-omega, the movies are just stand-alone installments and non-canon except for the Kurapika’s flashbacks. It doesn’t make much difference whether you watch it after the anime or the order I chose above but for the best flow, I would recommend going according to the order I wrote.

Hunter × Hunter: Phantom Rouge (2013)

This is the first movie you should watch, even though it’s mostly non-canon (except for Kurapika’s past).

It centers around Kurapika who is still trying to get revenge on Phantom Troupe, a world-renowned gang of thieves who massacred his clan in order to get their unique Scarlet eyes which are considered a valuable treasure.

After someone also steals Kurapika’s Scarlet eyes, it’s up to Gon, Killua, and Leorio to save him.

Hunter x Hunter: The Last Mission (2013)

It seems like it’s entirely non-canon, so do yourself a favor and don’t watch it if you are not an absolute avid HxH fan as I am. Many people complain that it’s absolute garbage but I still enjoyed it because I love Hunter x Hunter too much. I don’t find it poorly made but maybe my judgment is clouded. 😀

HxH: The Last Mission shows us the dark side Hunters whose goal is to massacre all Hunters. With Killua injured and Kurapika almost dead, it’s up to Gon to save his friends by any means.

Hunter x Hunter (1999) Viewing Order with OVAs

Hunter x Hunter (1999)1999 – 2001
Hunter x Hunter: Spider (OVA)2002
Hunter x Hunter: Greed Island (OVA)2003
Hunter x Hunter: Greed Island Final (OVA)2004
Hunter x Hunter (2011) episode 752011 – 2014
HxH: Phantom Rouge & HxH: The Last Mission (movies)2013

This is my least favorite watching order since it makes no sense to watch OVAs of poor quality. If you prefer slower pacing and character design from the 1999 version, you can just finish the anime series, watch HxH: Spider (OVA) & continue right at episode 59 of Hunter x Hunter (2011).

Have fun! 🙂


Hi, I'm Mia, the founder of 9 Tailed Kitsune. An avid anime fan, gamer, and esports enthusiast dedicated to helping you find anime content exactly to your liking.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.