How to Watch the Toaru Series In Order

Toaru fans frequently bicker when it comes to the question of how to watch the Toaru series properly. This is because there are actually multiple watch orders for the show.

But first, let’s talk about the Toaru franchise first. For those who don’t know what’s the Toaru series about, it’s a series that is set in a world where supernatural abilities exist. There are two ways of acquiring special powers: through science (individuals called Espers) & through mastering the power of magic (individuals called Sorcerers).

Toaru Majutsu no Index focuses on the power struggle between these two factions, while Railgun & Accelerator center around scientific issues in this world.

The Index series ended up having three seasons, Railgun has three seasons, and Accelerator has only one season.

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links. If you use these links to buy something, I may earn a small commission, without any extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Thank you!

1. Toaru Majutsu no Index/ A Certain Magical Index

Toaru Majutsu no Index is a Japanese light novel series written by Kazuma Kamachi and illustrated by Kiyotaka Haimura.

It’s the main story of the Toaru Universe, albeit not the most popular. Since the Railgun & Accelerator series below are intertwined with Index, it’s advisable to watch all of them as well.

The Index series focuses way more on the magic side of the Toaru Universe.

The protagonist is Touma Kamijou.

>>> Watch Toaru Majutsu no Index on Amazon <<<

2. Toaru Kagaku no Railgun/ A Certain Scientific Railgun

Toaru Kagaku no Railgun is a Japanese manga series written by Kazuma Kamachi and illustrated by Motoi Fuyukawa.

It’s a spin-off of Toaru Majutsu no Index with events taking place before and during the events of Toaru Majutsu no Index.

Railgun series focuses more on the scientific side of the Toaru Universe.

The protagonist is Misaka Mikoto.

>>> Watch Toaru Kagaku no Railgun on Amazon <<<

3. Toaru Kagaku no Accelerator/ A Certain Scientific Accelerator

Toaru Kagaku no Accelerator is a Japanese manga series written by Kazuma Kamachi and illustrated by Arata Yamaji.

It’s a spin-off of Toaru Majutsu no Index.

The Accelerator series focuses more on the scientific side of the Toaru Universe.

The protagonist is Accelerator.

>>> Watch Toaru Kagaku no Accelerator on Amazon <<<

I know that the Toaru series might be a bit confusing, but no worries, we’ve got you covered!

The Easiest Guide on How to Watch the Toaru series

If you love Misaka Mikoto: Railgun → Railgun S → Railgun T

If you love Accelerator: Index I → Railgun S → Accelerator → Index II → Index III

If you love Index: Index I → Index II → Index Movie → Index III

Release order: Index I → Railgun → Index II → Index Movie → Railgun S → Index III → Accelerator → Railgun T

How to watch the Toaru series According to Release Date

This order is referred to as the Index first order or the broadcast order. This order is feasible for people who care about cohesion and lore development.

Toaru Majutsu no Index I2008–2009
Toaru Kagaku no Railgun2009–2010
Toaru Kagaku no Railgun Episode 13′ (OVA)2009
Toaru Kagaku no Railgun OVA2010
Toaru Majutsu no Index II2010–2011
Toaru Majutsu no Index: Endymion no KisekiFebruary 2013
Toaru Kagaku no Railgun SApril–September 2013
Toaru Kagaku no Railgun S OVA2014
Toaru Majutsu no Index III2018–2019
Toaru Kagaku no Accelerator2019
Toaru Kagaku no Railgun T2020

Best Toaru Watch Order (Amplifying Mystery)

This is also called the Railgun first order. You will get much more interest in the series by following the Scientific Side of Academy City in Railgun first before heading into the Magical Side in Index, despite Railgun being the spin-off. It’s the most recommended order for people who value emotional impact.

Toaru Kagaku no Railgun 2009–2010
Toaru Kagaku no Railgun S 2013
Toaru Majutsu no Index I 2008–2009
Toaru Kagaku no Accelerator 2019
Toaru Majutsu no Index II 2010–2011
Endymion Movie 2013
Toaru Majutsu no Index III 1-6 2018–2019
Toaru Kagaku no Railgun T 2020
Toaru Majutsu no Index III episodes 7+ 2018–2019
Share your love ♡
Mia Milanová
Mia Milanová

For years, I've been writing about anime & digital marketing, fusing my academic background (psychology) with my love for writing and anime (200+ shows devoured!). At 9 Tailed Kitsune, I share my love for anime and create a space for fans to connect. ✨

Articles: 433


Leave a Reply